Patients who suffer from celiac disease suffer severe physical and emotional repercussions when they eat food that contains gluten. They have to follow a strict gluten-free diet. Solid food products that celiac patients avoid include pasta, soy sauce, mayonnaise, candies, ice cream, etc. The restrictions on their solid food intake also apply to their liquid.
The good news is that, unlike solid foods, celiac sufferers can continue to drink their favorite beverage without exercising the same limitations as other food products. This is true even before you are diagnosed with the disease. The only important exception, in this case, is beer. Because beer always contains wheat or malted barley, it will have gluten. There are certain gluten-free beers available in the markets now but it is best to exercise restraint to remain cautious especially if the disease impacts you strongly.
Drinks that do not contain any grain include vermouth, tequila, mead, rum, sherry, cider, brandy, port, and wine. Bourbon is created from wheat, rye, barley, and corn, the grains are removed by the distillation process. Hence while it is safe to drink, it is better to avoid it until you can follow a consistent dietary intake.
Whiskey contains plenty of gluten owing to the rye or malted barley which is added to the beverage. If you are an avid beer drinker, it is best to carefully examine and investigate your drink labels for glutenous elements. Those who do not want to invest their time in ensuring their drinks are safe or not, can continue to follow a nonalcoholic diet.
The drinks that are safe for celiac disease diet include
- Carbonated drinks
- Fruit Drinks
People who follow their celiac disease treatment through diet can find it to be very boring. But the truth is, the celiac disease diet is not as finite as they think. If you are diagnosed, you can still eat the same food you are before the diagnosis. You just need to ensure that the ingredients in these products are with less to no gluten.
Diversity in diet will better your chances of enjoying a celiac disease diet. You can enjoy pasta made from rice, soy, and potato while drinking a cool carbonated beverage.
To keep diversity in their diet, people on a celiac disease diet can still enjoy bread and pasta made out of potato, rice, soy, or bean floor. Today it is easier since there are manufacturers who sell gluten-free bread, pasta, and other food.